The Sun's Shadow

Stumbling to find a light switch in the dark

Buffy the Philosophy Slayer

I freely and happily admit that during its seven year run I was an avid Buffy the Vampire Slayer fan. I found the show well written and a great example of an escapist fantasy television show, where the characters and stories were developed and engrossing enough to suspend disbelief in things like vampires and magic, which are central elements to the show. The show however was more than that it was also about philosophy of our times to such an extent that there is an academic conference being held this week in Little Rock AR.

“It has staying power,” Durand said. “It’s like I tell my students in philosophy a lot of times: We’re not so much about necessarily finding all the answers as wanting to ask better questions. `Buffy,’ I think, does that. `Buffy’ never really leaves you with nice, pat answers. You have even more questions than when you started.”

Durand said more than 90 academic papers will be discussed at the conference. He expects about 150 people to attend and discuss the vampire slayer and Whedon’sother works, including the television series “Firefly” and “Angel.” Another point of discussion will be a lesser-known part of Whedon’swork — his screenplay for the hit animated film “Toy Story.”

Among the papers: “Buffy and Feminism,” “Buffy and Identity,”

The show certainly asks a lot of questions through its coming of age characters in a difficult world, I relate to this in the sense that I came of age along with the show and it was and is certainly apart of the zeitgeist of the times we live in. I recall back in 2004 I picked up a Buffy Philosophy Book Fear and Trembling in Sunnydale it was a fun read that covered a diverse set of philosophical topics and I recommendit to any fan of the show or philosophy and can easily see how this academic courses have arisen out of a pop-culture phenomenon.
This show I think still holds up and continues to be one of my favorites and I am happy to see that its impact continues to live on.

In to every generation a Slayer is born …. 🙂

June 6, 2008 - Posted by | Academic, Entertainment, TV | ,

2 Comments »

  1. […] for free. It now only available on itunes. I have purchased it, its from Josh Whedon creator of Buffy the Vampire Slayer a show I have previously written about as well as Angel & the short lived show Firefly on on go […]

    Pingback by Late to the Dance « Thethyme’s | July 21, 2008 | Reply

  2. Glad to see another out-of-the-closet fan!

    Comment by RallyGrrrl | September 19, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

