The Sun's Shadow

Stumbling to find a light switch in the dark

My Job broke Up With Me

On Friday at about 3:30 in the afternoon, my job and I had a talk and my job basically gave me the its not you, it’s me speech…if you are not familiar with this speech as it relates to breaking up I cannot help you.

So I was laid off due to a downturn in work, which is OK, since I was basically being told the problem is the company or business but not me… I walk away with a few weeks pay, recommendations,  ability to file for unemployment, serious increase in free time and and its summer in NYC such a good time to have off and I have not been on a vacation had any serious time off in 4 years. The week before the 4thof July is a nice time to not have to think about going to work. But there is some “work” to do tomorrow begins the work of filing for unemployment and joining in the quest for a new job with the other unemployed 7 Million Americans. Also begins the quest to relax and sort a few things out. Right now I feel free.

This loss of my job makes feel even more connected to the world (as it is portrayed on the news), I feel part of an exciting time and new possibilities. There is always HOPE in the promise of a new day.

June 29, 2008 - Posted by | Personal |

2 Comments »

  1. […] Job Quest Its only been a little more than 3 weeks since my job broke up with me so its still early going in my search for a new job. I have been doing the normal things I scaled […]

    Pingback by The Job Quest « Thethyme’s | July 24, 2008 | Reply

  2. […] Job Quest Ends I have previously written about how I had been laid off and my quest to find new employment. That quest has now ended I have accepted a Job offer and I […]

    Pingback by The Job Quest Ends « The Thyme’s | August 15, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

