The Sun's Shadow

Stumbling to find a light switch in the dark

I Invented a Board Game

Last week a took a few days and I decided I wanted to come up with my own board game after the previous weekend’s monopoly debacle. I wanted something simple and fun and based mostly on chance, that didn’t require a negotiation or some kind of strategy and I did it! I left it set up last night as a surprise for my girlfriend to see when she returned home from a weekend trip visiting a girlfriend.

The Game is a simple one I call King of the Jungle where you move around a game board as a jungle animal moving your token to overcome the obstacles and challenges and become king of the jungle, everything is essentially decided by a roll of the die or a flip of a coin. It turned out to be a surprisingly fun game we played it twice, it only takes 15- 20 minutes to play.

When I thought of the idea I tried to make it for a 7 year old to play. i wanted to limit how complicated it can be and to make it a non-stressful game but fun and silly like my ideal self 🙂

It was also a lot of fun to make it was a really nice arts and crafts project… Once I had an idea for a game I made a written outline for it and the style of play, the cards, die rules etc… then I brought it too life, like I was a kid again using poster board, construction paper and glue. It so simple and so fun (have I mentioned that) the only thing was time it took… it took  a few days to flush the idea out, but once it was out it poured out and the game came to life.

Here are just a couple of pics of the game board

A view of a section of the game board with animal tokens on it

A view of a section of the game board with animal tokens on it

The Lion is the King of the Jungle this time, I played as the Gorilla

The Lion is the King of the Jungle this time, I played as the Gorilla

July 21, 2008 - Posted by | Personal |

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

