The Sun's Shadow

Stumbling to find a light switch in the dark

STAR TREK Fan Productions

I must of lost my trekker licence years ago when I stopped going to conventions. I always enjoyed Star Trek unfortunately like many “at one point dedicated fans” I’ve seen every episode of anything to do with Star Trek probably multiple times. I have grown weary waiting for new series and want some new trek… which is not coming any time soon. Everyone should judge their own the level of fandom.

      The other day I remembered George Takei in his role as the announcer for the Howard Stern Show mention that he had recently filmed a new Star Trek episode (this is a memory from a long while ago)… not a Paramount production but one that was created for and by fans of the Star Trek… the comment on the show was only entertained briefly and was dismissed with out much discussion the idea can almost seem absurd… it actually did seem absurd until yesterday when I recalled this little nerd nugget in my head like a sleeping trek-bomb that explodes and I do a search for Star Trek Fan Productions and POW! There is a stunning amount of it. I was having mixed feelings but I trusted my gut, normally I punch it but I checked it out.

STAR TREK PHASE II (Formerly New Voyages) This picks up at what would be season 4 of the original series, obviously all the actors have been recast. The production value is high the effects are by far better than in TOS. The acting is weak… but that is alright I can see how tough stepping in to any of those characters would/could/should be. The Story is… not bad… in fact it is pretty decent. I won’t bother with a synopsis you can check the link for all the info on it. I did have a feeling of watching Star Trek maybe the college play version of it… but did I mention the Story and the CGI. Plus its fun, the idea of Kirk, Spock and McCoy had many further adventures together and we get to see more of them… sweet but alot to live up for a fan. They also have Walter Koenig and George Takei guest star as Chekov and Sulu in different episodes and that is sweet the really worked them back in to the story. Very enjoyable!

I also watched another of one of the fan film productions

Star Ship Exeter This show is also set during the time frame of TOS, however it centers around the USS Exeter NCC-1706 another Constitution Class Star Ship. You follow the adventures of the Exeter’s crew as they muddle their way through space on their mission of exploration and being the first guy to see or do something. The second episode has better overall production value than the first, however the first was a work in progress and they are clearly progressing. The Andorians antenna still needs to be in the front of his head… The CGI is excellent by mid 90’s standards. This concept I find exciting if they can develop the stories a little more and the acting… well I guess we will just live with that… but tales from other ships in the fleet and their perspective on events and interactions with elements already familiar to the audience could be appealing and make for some good Trek adventures.

This only scrapes the tip there are many others… apparently there is something called Star Trek Hidden Frontier that has produced 50 episodes which is set during the TNG post the Insurrection movie… I think… I haven’t watch any of these yet… but to make 50 of them their has to be some promise to them.

I don’t know who or how these are being made the clearly it takes time and effort by a lot of people and that is to be commended from what I have see so far the production values they are much higher than I imagined. Its a good feeling to be impressed by something like this mostly because I understand none of this is done for profit. This is just made by fans for fans and distributed freely to anyone. Paramount allows tolerates the use of the Star Trek Trademark….It is likely subtle and more complicated…but to who ever is putting up the money and to all who dedicate their time… THANK YOU!

If you were a fan of Star Trek… like me you once had the sickness of being obsessed with it,  maybe this is worth your time… OH BOY AM I LATE TO THIS DANCE

UPDATE:I have watched the first few seasons of Hidden frontier and this is closer to what I was expecting but still better than I originally thought it could be. These episodes are filmed entirely in front of a green screen and the CGIis more on the Video Game side. The green screen setting limits some of the actors interactions with their surroundings, for instance you won’t see a helmsman actual touch the helm… All and all not bad and gives me further hope for stories from fans that are set in the Trek universe.

I wonder if there are fans of other shows that have made the effort to produce this level of quality fan fiction?

July 29, 2008 - Posted by | Entertainment, Personal, Sci-Fi | , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. I’ve really been enjoying your blog. So much so that I want to syndicate it on BustaBlog, a new blog network. You will earn money from your posts by doing nothing more than you’re are doing now.

    For more information: Visit Bustablog.com/Syndication

    Comment by clickfornick | July 29, 2008 | Reply

  2. If you want to find out more about the world of fan films, and what people are up to today, you might want to check out my fan film blog, http://www.fancinematoday.com. Also, for what it’s worth, I wrote the first book about the history and future of fan films, Homemade Hollywood, which is coming out this fall.

    Comment by cliveyoung | September 10, 2008 | Reply

  3. Forgot to mention–it has a LOT of info on PhaseII/New Voyages as well as Star Trix from the 80s, which Paramount tried shut down back in the day, and others.

    Comment by cliveyoung | September 10, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

